Welcome Guest 

Register

Author Topic:
Kljunas2
Council Member
Send Message
Post Should I learn Quenya or Sindarin?
on: March 24, 2015 11:17
I just started learning quenya(4 lessons) and I just want to know, if it's better to change to sindarin.
Which is better in terms of amount of language in films, books and people speeking language etc.
Quenya
67% (2)
Sindarin
33% (1)
LareowNorthan
Council Member
Send Message
Difficult to answer. I believe the movies have more Sindarin, but Quenya has more vocabulary and is written more frequently by Tolkien (To all, correct me if I am wrong). The choice is really up to you.
Sindarin: No i brestanneth anírach tírad vi amar Enlgish: Be the change you wish to see in the world
Eryniell
Council Member
Send Message
It depends on what languages youre already familiar with. Quenya is more Finnish-like, while Sindarin is more Welsh. Quenya is a more structured language with a lot more vocabulary. It is more lyrical and open sounded, and has less consonants. Sindarin is the more common and popular language to learn, and it was the most common language used in the LotR series. In my opinion, I like the sound of Sindarin better, especially since the R's are trilled. (Many people consider Sinadrin to be the more difficult language of the two.) but I would suggest Sindarin, mainly because it is the language that everyone is more familiar with.
It's all up to your own preference, though.
Varyalener
Council Member
Send Message
That is not an easy choice. I think it will be helpful to consider some points: