Register

Author Topic:
WaitingCynicism
Council Member
Send Message
Post LGBT in Middle Earth?
on: August 07, 2018 07:11
Hey all,

Apologies if this is too controversial a topic or political for the forum, but I was wondering how an LGBT person or couple would be seen in ME? Is it a sin?
Gandolorin
Council Member
Send Message
Hi WaitingCynicism, you might want to check discussions in the Roleplaying sub-forums. When I was a newbie here in late 2013 and early 2014, I surfed through practically all threads to get acquainted with the site, and I remember some controversial discussions with moderators there (though they may have taken place quite a while before I joined in November 2013).

Now looking at M-e as JRRT's world, I would guess that he would have been unsympathetic to LGBT issues. He was after all quite a conservative Catholic, and unhappy with quite a few of the innovations of the Second Vatical Council (1962-1965). Besides perhaps displaying the special fervor of a convert (though he was only 8 when his mother Mabel converted in 1900), he appears (by his own statements in letters etc.) to have connected his Catholic belief very much with his mother, who died young (at 34) in 1904 of then-incurable diabetes, when he was only 12. He himself called his mother a martyr to her (and his) belief.