Welcome Guest 

Register

Author Topic:
Council Member
Send Message
Post Calligraphy
on: July 18, 2004 06:14
I searched through this forum and could find drawing, writing, music, party ideas and a whole bunch of other things, but I could not find a thread on calligraphy. After reading the forum rules, I am pretty sure that it belongs here, but if you'd like to move it/delete it because it doesn't, it is fine with me.

I'm a fairly new calligraphy student, but really love it. (For those of you who may not know what calligraphy is, it is the art of fancy writing, basically. The tengwar runes in LOTR are similar to a style that does exist.) I've only done it for about a year, and I practice a lot, but I'm still not very good. I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions about how to improve.

~Elizabeth
Goldsand
Mystic of Ithilien
Send Message
Post RE: Calligraphy
on: July 18, 2004 09:11
A very good topic silvan_elf_princess, and thanks for checking (I know it took some time to do this).

Calligraphy is something I've always wanted to try, but just haven't set aside the time to do so yet.

Here is an interesting webpage on the inscriptions found in the movie trilogy.

[Edited on 7/19/2004 by Goldsand]
Eruvyreth_Himiel
Council Member
Send Message
on: July 20, 2004 09:48
i think the best thing to do is to not let your head get in the way when doing calligraphy. keep it natural, everyone has a slightly different style, don't labour over it.
Ithileth
Council Member
Send Message
on: July 30, 2004 06:41
I do some calligraphy and i love it! Now I'm not saying that I am good just that I think it's fun, way to go!
Now, this is probably the lameist advice you will get but it works, and it helps. Go to the library. They have books that tell how to use gold stenciling, the best pens, inks, and erasers. I am not claiming to be a pro but it is something I like to do and thats where I get my information. And believe me there is a lot of it!
glory2glorfindel
Council Member