Register

Author Topic:
fasa09
Council Member
Send Message
Post David Eddings
on: August 14, 2004 09:55
Good afternoon neighbors,

Besides Tolkien, I'm a huge fan of David Eddings. Am I alone here, or are any of you fans of him as well? I've read all of his books about ten times over. I seem to have picked up a habit of calling people 'neighbor' from him too. It confuses people a lot less than when I call them 'mellon'. "What!?!?!? Did you say I was a melon???????" is the response I usuallly get.
briseis_orqu_apollo
Council Member
Send Message
Post RE: David Eddings
on: August 16, 2004 10:46
not 2 sure, but I've got a non-CoE member friend MAD about Eddings, I mean MAD. When everyone else talks Tolkien she just wrecks the conversation with...'So, about Eddings...'
I've read bits, but I'm new to fantasy and can't accept that MAYBE someone could rival Tolkien.

[Edited on 17/8/2004 by briseis_orqu_apollo]
lotr_fanatic
Council Member
Send Message
on: August 17, 2004 03:01
don't worry you're not alone.

i love david eddings writing as well, although im still relatively new to it and have only read belgariad and mallorean ( sorry if the spelling is a bit wrong). I think his sense of humour is really infectious, its that dry sarcastic tone he uses that makes you fall off your chair laughing.

glad to know that there is another edding's fan, neighbour!
fasa09
Council Member
Send Message
on: August 17, 2004 10:39
Belgariad and Mallorean are the ones he's best known for... my personal favorites are the Elenium and Tamuli, but I got hooked by reading Polgara the Sorceress. I love his sense of humor as well.

One of my favorite quotes from Elenium:
"Watch your mouth, Talen!"
"I can't, Kurik, my nose gets in the way."
Tindomewen
Council Member
Send Message
on: August 21, 2004 10:13