Register

Author Topic:
Aelgas
Council Member
Send Message
Post Sea Fever
on: November 17, 2004 04:40
Suilad Sindarindrim ,

To hear Sindarin spoken in the LoTR movies has reawakened my youthful dreams of writing and speaking in Elvish (purely Sindarin though, I'm afraid I've never been fond of Quenya).

I was delighted to return to studying and find such a substantial corpus, and websites such as this one... my admiration is given to all ye scholars and enthusiasts.

Anyway, to the point. I've long thought that John Masefield's Sea Fever was a poem worthy of any elf with a smattering of Teleri blood and I've attempted to translate it, below. Being as this is my first attempt at serious Sindarin I'd appreciate it if the more knowledgeable among ye would check my grammar, i.e. declension, conjugation, lenition and mutation and of course more general comments are very welcome. The word order I know is a little unconventional here and there but only to preserve the rhyme - I hope.

I know someone attempted Sea Fever before but I've not found a finished version, so if anyone knows of one please point me at it.

Here goes, Sindarin, Literal English and lastly the proper English...

Lhiw o Anirad ‘aear

Boe anim ad bedi an ngaear,
an ngaear ereb, an menel.
Erui aniron orchal nín gaer,
ar radad nín ennin er el.
I rithad dogaud ar sûl laer
uin sûlwi ‘lan i dammad.
Ar hîth or talath ‘aear
di mhinuial mhith i edrad.

i ganed ‘aear hwiniad nored
Na caned brêg na caned brui
balan dîn gar û-avad
Erui arad ‘waeren im anira
ir reviar in fain lain
I ‘wing ar falf bo ‘waew eriar
ar ganel i mhŷl fain.

an guil randir bembar,
An mhen mhŷl ar limon dhaer
ar gwaew sui higil mhegor,
Erui narn ‘elir im anira
o randir sui nin i drenared
Ar dinen deri ar oltha melui
ir methed lend anann gar toled.

Sickness from Desiring [the] Sea

It is necessary for myself again to go to [the] sea
to [the] sea lonely, to [the] sky.
Only I desire tall my ship,
and my wayfinding for me one star