Welcome Guest 

Register

Author Topic:
jelennuie
Council Member
Send Message
Post Help me "get the word out!"
on: April 13, 2005 01:20
Please believe me that I'm not a professional nit-picker but there is something that is driving me nuts and maybe you all can suggest a way to "get the word out!" There is some really good stuff available on learning Sindarin and if I may say so, I'm doing OK. At least, I'm doing well enough that when I do finally get to Rivendell, I'll be able to carry on a conversation. But to the point, what I keep running into are lessons that are otherwise fine but have in common in saying that “thou” is the “reverential” while “you" is the familiar. Tain’t so! Thou is the 2nd person familial which is like "du" in German or “tu” in French for those of you who know those languages.

Also, for those of a religious bent (a way of being that the Rings and certainly Tolkien himself encourage), thou as the friendly or familiar is why the Quakers used it to show that everyone is equal and as well it shows the familiar (of the family) relationship we are invited to take part in as we use "thou/thy" in the Lord’s prayer.

But religion and the religious aside, how do we get the word out on just plain correct English? Learning another languages is always a terrific way to learn one’s own so how do we make sure we get it right?

Jelennuie

[Edited on 13/4/2005 by jelennuie]
Fíriel
Enethdan Edhellen
Send Message
Post RE: Help me "get the word out!"
on: April 14, 2005 01:06
But to the point, what I keep running into are lessons that are otherwise fine but have in common in saying that “thou” is the “reverential” while “you" is the familiar. Tain’t so! Thou is the 2nd person familial which is like "du" in German or “tu” in French for those of you who know those languages

. . .