Welcome Guest 

Register

Author Topic:
starofdunedain
Council Member
Send Message
Post What happened to the dragons?
on: June 18, 2012 05:53
It says in the appendices of LotR that Smaug came down from the wastelands beyond the Grey Mountains and that he was one of the strongest of his kind. But what about the other dragons? Did they just stay there during the War of the Ring or did the come down to attack the Lonely Mountain and Dale? We know other places were under attack such as Mirkwood, Lothlorien, and Dale though it's only briefly mentioned, but were they just overrun by orcs and trolls or were the dragons involved at all?
What about after the war? There was a lot of work to do repairing damage and driving off invaders, but did they ever have trouble from the remaining dragons?
Erucenindë
Head Of Oromë
Send Message
Post Re: What happened to the dragons?
on: June 18, 2012 09:45
I'm not an expert or anything, but I don't remember anything being mentioned about dragons more than just Smaug. I don't know if anything was written about them in HoME or not, but I can't recall Tolkien saying anything more about them. I do wonder, though, what these dragons did? There had to be more than just Smaug, although most likely few. Perhaps they just stayed in their areas and nothing more.
Latarina15
Council Member
Send Message
on: June 18, 2012 10:33
i have read most of the silmarilion and it talkes about the father of dragons in that. he was killed in the silmarilion but so far it doesnt mention other dragons. in the Lord of the Rings i do remember that in the council of elrond Gandalf i think mentiones that "not even in the black dragon from the north does the old fire burn strong eanough to destroy the ring" i know that doesnt answer the question really but thats all i can think of about the dragons.
starofdunedain
Council Member
Send Message
on: June 18, 2012 11:12
Sorry, I should have put up the quotes first. In the appendices about Durin's folk it mentions