Register

Author Topic:
Alondieur Sey Dmiour
Council Member
Send Message
Post Getting Started
on: March 11, 2013 07:21
Hello all!

I am new to reading the works of Tolkien and I was wondering what would be the best book to read in order to establish a "foundation" for the rest. I started the Silmarillion, unlike most, I have been able to keep up with names, places, etc. But I was wondering if there would be a better one to begin with?

Thanks for any help!

[Edited on 05/04/2013 by PotbellyHairyfoot]
Lord_Sauron
Council Member
Send Message
Post Re: Getting Started
on: March 11, 2013 01:29
Firstly welcome to the site .
In my opinion you should start with the Hobbit, next The LotR and then the Silmarillion. Other users will have different opinions
Lindarielwen
Council Member
Send Message
on: March 11, 2013 02:36
Well you jumped right in with The Silmarillion that is for sure. And you are keeping up, you say? The Silmarillion is basically the beginning of it all. I would tend to agree with Lord_Sauron telling you to start with The Hobbit, LotR, and then The Silmarillion but if you feel comfortable reading The Silmarillion then keep going. Next, The Hobbit and then LotR. The Children of Hurin could follow. I am currently reading The Silmarillion...for the fourth time...I found it difficult the first two times and still am having a bit of trouble. It is, however my favourite Tolkien book. Good luck and welcome to The Council of Elrond!
My destiny is riding again, rolling in the rain, unwinding in the wind. My destiny is fighting again, secretly unwinding..what it was I was supposed to say...to say to you today.
Alondieur Sey Dmiour
Council Member
Send Message
on: March 11, 2013 02:49
Thank you very much!
PotbellyHairyfoot
Grandpa Moderator
Send Message
on: March 31, 2013 10:17