Welcome Guest 

Register

Author Topic:
Elfeawen Lomiondil
Council Member
Send Message
Post Tolkien’s Likes/Dislikes
on: March 17, 2024 03:47
As a fan artist, I take note of things that Tolkien liked and what he did not. Sometimes I wish to make something that is as is close as possible to something he would like. I am aware that it is not possible to actually predict whether he would like a piece of art or music or anything else, but as long as it amuses me to try, and I do not make any claims that cannot be supported, I do not see anything wrong with the attempt.

That is why I started compiling this information, and I thought it may interest others.

For example, Tolkien liked the illustrations Pauline Baynes made for his stories. He did not like the Disney animation at the time. He disliked “intensely” the fairy tales of Hans Christian Anderson. Source: Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, Letter 234.
"There shall be war between the Children of Iluvatar and the Ainu Melko. What if we perish in our quest? The dark halls of Vê be little worse than this bright prison" ~ Fëanor
Elfeawen Lomiondil
Council Member
Send Message
Tolkien had some opinions on how to make a good film adaptation of LOTR. He thought “abridgment” was better than “compression” if the story needed to be shortened. Compression would lead to “over-crowding and confusion, blurring of climaxes, and general degradation: a pull-back towards more conventional ‘fairy-stories’.” He did not want Lorien to become “a fairy-castle with ‘delicate minarets’. He said “abridgment by selection with some good picture-work would be pleasant”. (Letter 201, Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien)

I wish I knew what the thought “good picture work” looked like!

Tolkien met with representatives from a film company in 1957 who showed him some “really astonishing good pictures (Rackham rather than Disney) and some remarkable color photographs.” (Letter 202, Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien)