Welcome Guest 

Register

Author Topic:
ceocan
Council Member
Send Message
Post Quenya in daily use
on: September 01, 2003 04:20
Can I use Quenya in daily use. I mean not to speak Dutch anymore and talk Quenya all the time.
oinklikeapig
Council Member
Send Message
Post RE: Quenya in daily use
on: September 01, 2003 05:08
I don't know if you could speak Quenya all the time... I'm really new to Quenya, but I've studied Sindarin for a while, and I know that both languages have less vocabulary than a normal language.

I know that Sindarin isn't really complete enough to speak 100 percent of the time... Not sure about Quenya, though

~oink~
Quesseriël
Council Member
Send Message
on: September 01, 2003 06:10
i believe that Quenya can be spoken in normal conversations. The only problems would be with technology. Nevertheless, the coining words for "internet, computer, etc." in Quenya would be similar to that of a language of a developing nation. i think the biggest problem would be trying to find someone else that speaks Quenya fluently to talk to!
falather
Council Member
Send Message
on: September 01, 2003 08:02
I would love to speak nothing but Quenya all the time- you'd get really good at it after a while! Yes, the technology thing would definately be an issue, but a lot of our "new" words are based off of bits and pieces of "old" words, so there might not be that much to guess on. (Like "telephone" comes from "tele" far and "phone" hearing, I think...) I'd be more concerned with verbs and tenses. (For instance, we don't have a word for "should" or "must" yet.)

This actually could be an interesting project to try... (scurries off to find empty notebook)
oinklikeapig
Council Member
Send Message
on: September 01, 2003 11:09
You guys are probably right... like I said, I'm very new to Quenya.