Welcome Guest 

Register

Author Topic:
Eloise
Giver of Smores
Send Message
Post Martial Artists
on: August 26, 2003 08:14
I'm curious as to anyone on this site do any form of self defense or martial arts. Call me nosy, but I'm very interested in different styles and thought this could be a place for us to discuss what our styles are like and things.

Anyway, I'll start off. I've been doing Shindo Shotokai karate for 8 years and I'm a brown belt, black tab. Shindo is a non contact style which is VERY similar to normal shotokai and kinda similar to Shotokan. I really enjoy it, I've made some of my best friends through my club. I'm one of the few girls that practise (there's only two of us above green belt) And without trying to boast, I'm the highest junior at our club which is a huge achievement as I'm female, have been practising for less time than the guys and they outnumber me five to one

So, enough about me, what about you? How long have you been practising? What style do you do? What grade are you at?
eowynshue
CoE Volunteer
Send Message
Post RE: Martial Artists
on: August 26, 2003 08:27
i think my martial art is kinda limited to "wax on wax off" lol

i used to do jui jitsu (or however its spelt, lol) but i only did that for a couple of months because i didnt have time to contiue and i didnt really like the way it was taught. being in a big group of people better than me is scary *hides*. i prefer the "training on your own so no one sees how bad you are" idea lol

non contact style

i like the sound of that lol
ElvenWytch
CoE Volunteer
Send Message
on: August 26, 2003 11:21
Yay, others like me!
heh. I studied traditional (as opposed to olympic) tae kwon do, for about three or so years before switching to Shotokan Karate (the love of my life, heh.) I've been studying that for, ummm, three or so years now. I tried softer styles but they're just not nearly so much fun. I absolutely adore Shotokan, and I generally compete in our region every year.